Ogrodzieniec Castle is the largest stronghold of the Krakow-Częstochowa Upland, and without doubt, one of the most beautiful castles in Poland. It is located on the Janowski Mountain in the middle part of the Upland. The majestic ruins of the picturesque are added by fanciful rock forms, with the use of which the walls of the building were erected. The castle lies in the central part of the Jura and is easily accessible by communication. A markedly marked trail of the Eagles' Nests runs nearby.
The history of the castle
The beginnings of defensive architecture in Podzamcze date back to the times of Bolesław Krzywousty, when on the rocky hill of the Birów Mountain a fortified stronghold was built, staffed with a team guarding the frontiers against the invasion of the Bohemian princes. Instead of this building, destroyed during the time of Łokietek's struggle for the Kraków throne, in the mid-fourteenth century, Casimir the Great built a Gothic castle on the Janowski Mountain, which Władysław Jagiełło in 1386 gave to Włodek from Charilowicz Sulima coat of arms. The stronghold changed hands many times, in the first half of the 16th century it was in the hands of the Boner family, one of the richest and most influential in contemporary Poland. At the initiative of Seweryn Boner in the years 1530-45, the castle was rebuilt into a magnificent Renaissance style building. Ambitious owners modeled themselves in their plans at the Wawel Castle, thus organizing, with great splendor, one of the most splendid residences in the Commonwealth. After the boner line has expired, the castle has changed its owners many times. Unfortunately, the building was also a victim of invasions and catastrophes, which caused more and more destruction. In 1587, Ogrodzieniec Castle was conquered by Archduke Maksymilian, the pretender to the throne of Poland. In 1655 - during the deluge - the Swedish army stationed here caused a fire which consumed a significant part of the castle. In 1702, the building was again a victim of a fire, also incited by the Swedish army, staying here this time during the Northern War. Since then, the castle collapsed, as the costs of reconstruction exceeded the capacity of subsequent owners. At the beginning of the 19th century, the last inhabitants left the building, whose walls were dismantled and used as a building material.
From the beginning of the 20th century, a number of initiatives were taken to secure the picturesque ruins. Currently, they are open to the public, mass events take place here. The ruins served several times as film locations, min. during the production of "Knight", "Janosik" or "Revenge" by Andrzej Wajda. As with other Jura castles, legends are also associated with the Ogrodzieniec fortress. They say on moonlit nights a huge black dog appears on the walls of the castle, pulling a huge chain behind it. As the initiates say, it is the soul of the rich and cruel castellan of Krakow, Stanisław Warszycki, one of the men of the Ogrodzieniec Castle.
April: 9 am - 6 pm
May-August: 9 am - 8 pm
September: 9 am - 7 pm
October: 9 am - 4 pm
November: 10 am - 3 pm
Nie jesteś zalogowany. Aby skorzystać z planera podróży musisz się zalogować.